A Reply From Dr. Rick Davis of Consumer Metric Institute

Hui Zhong:

Thank you for your kind words and interest in the Consumer Metrics
Institute.

1) Since all of our data is presented as year-over-year comparisons, to
some extent your observations are true: 2008 saw a sharp decline, the 2009
“improvement” was substantially a return to “normal” (which looked strong
in comparison to relatively weak 2008 data), and the 2010 drop was at least
partly a return to the lower absolute numbers of 2008.

2) However, when looking at the the shape and timing of each year’s data
profile it is clear that there were specific economic pressures that
distorted the profile during each of the years — including specific
governmental stimulus interventions and programs. Those economic
dislocations cause each of the years to have a unique shape when plotted
over time.

3) As we have said in our commentary, the 2010 contraction will be longer
than the 2008 contraction, and any “recovery” upswing is likely to neither
as steep as the 2008 upswing nor as likely to return to net growth in
anywhere near as short a time span.

4) The renormalization that we mention addresses only the issue of
internet commerce gaining market share relative to traditional
“brick-and-mortar” commerce. Actual absolute volumes of internet commerce
are constantly growing as more consumers feel comfortable with internet
transactions and new younger shoppers become first-time internet consumers.
If we did not re-normalize our data our indexes would continually grow as a
result of the growing internet consumer base. Our renormalization process
simply addresses that issue. We don’t ever “reset” our indexes back to 100,
nor do we change the historical values of our indexes after they are
published.

Thanks again for your interest,

Rick Davis
Consumer Metrics Institute
 

This entry was posted in Economic & Financial Modelling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Reply From Dr. Rick Davis of Consumer Metric Institute

  1. Your website is great! This post really caught my eye when I was searching around. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Certainly its appropriate time to create a few plans for that long run as well as the moment to savor. I have learn this put up and if I may I want to suggest you few fascinating things or tips. Maybe you can post next post discussing this post. I would like to study even more issues associated with it!

  3. dfehgiuoe says:

    What i find difficult is to find a blog that may capture me for any minute but you definitely add value. Bravo.

  4. I love the layout of your site, what theme do you use?

  5. I was considering using BlogEngine however I saw that many of the sites I looked either had comments full of spam or they had simply closed the comments altogether. I really hope that you have been able to combat the spam because right now it is something which is making me stay away from BE.

  6. feet warts says:

    Spot on post mate. Cheers.

  7. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless just imagine if you added some great photos or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this site could definitely be one of the very best in its field. Good blog!

  8. tuinlantaarn says:

    I’m impressed, I need to say. Seriously hardly ever do I discovered a weblog thats each informative and entertaining, and allow me to let you know, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is important; the issue is something that not a great deal of individuals are speaking intelligently about. I’m genuinely delighted that I stumbled across this in my research for something relating to this.

  9. I’m impressed, I have to say. Very seldom do I discovered a blog thats both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your article is important; the issue is something that not many people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  10. pyjama says:

    I really wanted to write down a small note so as to appreciate you for these remarkable tips you are giving at this site. My time intensive internet investigation has now been compensated with incredibly good content to write about with my visitors. I would point out that many of us readers actually are very much lucky to be in a good site with so many perfect professionals with very helpful points. I feel very much fortunate to have used your site and look forward to really more entertaining minutes reading here. Thanks once more for a lot of things.

  11. tuinlantaarn says:

    Thanks for all of your hard work on this web page. My mom delights in engaging in internet research and it is obvious why. Most of us know all relating to the compelling form you create advantageous guidelines via this website and in addition improve contribution from visitors on this theme then my child is without a doubt discovering so much. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the year. You’re performing a powerful job.

  12. I as well as my friends appeared to be reading through the great secrets found on your site and then the sudden I had a horrible feeling I had not thanked the web site owner for them. All the guys happened to be as a consequence happy to read all of them and have now truly been tapping into these things. Appreciation for actually being so helpful and also for obtaining variety of magnificent topics most people are really needing to learn about. My honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to you earlier.

  13. I wanted to say this blog is almost amazing. I always like to hear something new about this because I have the similar blog in my Country on this subject so this help´s me a lot. I did a search on the matter and found a good number of blogs but nothing like this.Thanks for writing so much in your blog.

  14. Nadira says:

    Extremely rated post. I be taught something totally new on totally different blogs everyday. Deciding on one . stimulating to read the paper content from other writers and study a bit of something from their website. I’d like to apply certain of this content on my blog you’re mind. Natually I’ll give a link here we are at your web-site. Appreciate your sharing.

  15. Nadira says:

    Thank you for your blog post. Johnson and I have been saving to get a new e-book on this theme and your blog post has made us all to save all of our money. Your ideas really answered all our problems. In fact, above what we had thought of before we ran into your excellent blog. We no longer nurture doubts along with a troubled mind because you have attended to all of our needs above. Thanks

Leave a Reply

